top of page

WPSAS Emerging Artist Awards

We invite 11th grade students to submit applications for Emerging Artist Awards by Friday, March 22, 2019.  WPSAS will present two awards in art portfolio development: one for a student specializing in 2-D, and one specializing in 3-D. The scholarship is to be used for intensive art courses at MassArt or an equivalent level program in the Boston area.


We believe that it is important to support students passionate about the visual arts.  In 2016, Wellesley Parents Supporting Art Students (WPSAS) established an awards program for eighth grade students in the Wellesley Public Schools.  In 2017, we expanded the program to high school juniors.


The Emerging Artist Awards (EAA) for 2018 include:

Middle School Awards:

Three (3) scholarships for visual art instruction for 8th grade students, presently enrolled at WMS. One is for a student specializing in 2-D art, the second is for a student specializing in 3-D art. Each scholarship is valued at $300 each, for teen art courses at a local Metrowest art school. 

High School Awards:

Two scholarships for 11th grade students, to be used for specialized art instruction. The award is valued at $650 and may be used for portfolio development courses at MassArt.


Applications will be distributed to Wellesley students in school and made available on our website by February 28, 2018.  The due date will be Tuesday, March 20th.  These scholarship programs are based on artistic interest and creativity, with consideration given to students demonstrating dedication to the visual arts. 

The EAA-WPSAS recipients will be notified by March 26th. The EAA-WPSAS awards will be presented publicly on Tuesday, April 3, 2018 at 6:00 PM, during the Wellesley Public School (WPS) Student Art Show at the Wellesley Free Library.

At the awards ceremony in 2017: (from left to right) WPS Superintendent David Lussier, Wellesley High Art Instructor Shayla Vines, WPS Director of Art Thom Carter, EAA MS Winner Camilla Hanson, EAA HS Winner Julian von Hofe, WPSAS Co-President Nina Pascale, EAA HS Winner Olivia Eburne, WPSAS Co-President Margaret Petrovich, EAA MS Winner Will Coakley, EAA MS Winner Caitrona Igoes. 

bottom of page